How to Design Remote Serendipity

Pete Sena
7 min readMar 18, 2021

“Defining moments can be consciously created. You can be the architect of moments that matter.” ~ Chip Heath, from The Power of Moments

As a leader who has run a very collaborative, face-to-face agency for 14 years, I vividly remember the defining moment of 2020, for my business at least. It was when we decided to temporarily close DISTRICT, the innovative coworking space that’s home to Digital Surgeons, among other creative and entrepreneurial companies.

That day, now more than a year ago, feels burned into my brain. And my heart, truthfully. It was the moment that transformed us into a remote company literally overnight. (Happened to the best of us…)

So what does one do when faced with an unprecedented challenge?

Honestly… at first, I panicked.

Then I saw it as an opportunity to design a new way forward. We were already using so many digital collaborative tools that flipping into all virtual communication, whether synchronous or asynchronous, went pretty smoothly.

But then life settled into a predictable pattern. After a while, it started taking on a Groundhog Day-esque flavor. My team and I were getting things done, but I couldn’t help notice how much was lost without being together in person. Commiserating about Zoom fatigue is its own special kind of…

--

--

Pete Sena

I help founder-led businesses design demand 📈 ⚡️3X Founder / Operator / Investor | Ready to design demand for your brand? 👇 linktr.ee/Petesena