Volatility: What Babies and Crypto Have in Common

Pete Sena
5 min readJun 23, 2021
Top of mountain picture with transparent clouds moving. The sky is dark purple and in the center of the mountain top is a Bitcoin with an illuminating blue rings around the Bitcoin. Green baby pacifiers are falling from the sky.
Image by author

I’ve been thinking about volatility a lot lately, especially as a crypto and NFT investor. Also, as a new dad.

Believe it or not, the two have a lot in common, notably that there are lots of unknowns, but ultimately, the rewards far outweigh the risks.

Does it sound cold to compare digital currency with a child? I don’t think so — in fact, from a neurological standpoint, the experience feels similar. Once you commit, if you’re like me, you’ll have extreme downloads of bliss chemistry at times. And heart-pumping, stress-inducing adrenaline and cortisol at others.

Plus, I’ve heard both crypto and having kids described as volatile experiences. This implies negativity, which bugs me. After all, the dictionary definition of volatility is “liable to change rapidly and unpredictably, especially for the worse.”

If you embrace the fact that change is the only constant (which I completely do), there is no downside to transitions. No “worse” at all. In my opinion, it’s all about potential and possibility.

Yet, when I talk to people with kids, I can’t help but notice a sinister note in their voices when they tell me that my life is no longer my own. Or the random smirk on their faces when they tell me how I’m now beholden to the whims of a tiny human who weighs less…

--

--

Pete Sena

I help founder-led businesses design demand 📈 ⚡️3X Founder / Operator / Investor | Ready to design demand for your brand? 👇 linktr.ee/Petesena